Patient information

  • It is important that you show up at each appointment and that you arrive on time. Each missed appointment can extend the duration of your treatment.
  • In order to achieve optimal results, it is crucial that you take care of your teeth. Make sure you follow the instructions given at our clinic carefully.
  • Be sure to brush and floss regularly, and don't forget to carefully clean your appliances.
  • Once we initiate an orthodontic treatment, the patient must refrain from eating hard or sticky foods, such as popcorn, chewing gum, caramel, nuts, hard candy, or ice chips. Eating such foods could result in broken brackets (braces), unglued bands, or bended wires.
  • Raw fruits and vegetables, such as carrots, apples, pears, celery, cucumbers, etc. will need to be cut into bite size pieces. Patients must also avoid eating sugary foods, since they may cause decalcification (noticeable white spots on the teeth), and dental caries.

In case of an emergency

If one of the following situations arises:

  • Broken bracket
  • Loose wire
  • A wire is jabbing the inside of the cheek
  • Any other situation that may cause concern

Call our clinic to explain the problem. Our secretary will advise you what to do, or, if the problem requires assistance, will book you an appointment as soon as possible.

If you call outside business hours, leave a detailed message, and we will call you as soon as possible.

Until your appointment, here is what you can do if one of these problems arises:

Broken bracket

  • If one or more brackets completely come apart from the teeth, put them in an envelope and bring it with you to your next appointment.
  • If a bracket detaches from a tooth, but is still attached to the wire, leave it. If it is uncomfortable, cover it with orthodontic wax.


  • If the arch wire has come out of a bracket and is uncomfortable, cover it with a piece of orthodontic wax.
  • If the end of the arch wire is jabbing the inside of your cheeks, you can also cover the end of the wire with a piece of wax.

Other uncomfortable situations

  • If you feel any pain or discomfort due to the treatment, you may take over-the-counter pain medication, and call us as soon as possible if anything seems abnormal or concerns you.


  • 01.

    Is a referral from a dentist necessary in order to schedule an appointment with an orthodontist?
    Answer : No, you can schedule an appointment for a consultation by calling our office directly. Of course, your dentist can recommend that you see an orthodontist, but if you have any concerns, do not hesitate to talk to your dentist or to call us directly. A referral is not required when scheduling an appointment with us. Remember: your orthodontist is a specialized dentist.

  • 02.

    When a doctor installs an orthodontic appliance, is local or general anesthesia necessary?
    Answer : No! Every orthodontic appliance used by our team is either glued to your teeth and/or applied onto your gums. No injections are given at our clinic.

  • 03.

    Does a treatment involve injections (needles)?
    No, never! Injections are never required for an orthodontic treatment.

  • 04.

    How often are appointments scheduled?
    The frequency of your appointments depends mostly on the type of treatment you are receiving as well as your initial condition. On average, appointments are scheduled every 6 to 8 weeks.

  • 05.

    How much does a treatment cost?
    Answer : We know that the cost of treatment is a major factor for our patients. The cost can vary greatly depending on the type of correction, the appliances used and the duration of the treatment required to correct the malocclusion. However, after your first consultation, Dr. Huard will be in a much better position to give you the cost and duration of your treatment. Moreover, Dr. Huard offers different financing options in order to make treatment accessible. With the help of your insurance your claims and tax rebates, treatment costs less than you might think!

    By correcting dental and facial irregularities, an orthodontic treatment improves your face’s general appearance. Those who receive treatment can vouch for the resulting boost in confidence and self-esteem. One thing leads to another: an improved appearance helps regain self-esteem, which, in turn, improves quality of life. When evaluating the cost of your orthodontic treatment, consider the advantages of having a beautiful and healthy smile for the rest of your life. Several former patients have said that an orthodontic treatment was the best investment they had ever made!

  • 06.

    How long does a treatment last?
    Answer : On occasion, some patients may have better reactions than others to a given treatment. Orthodontic appliances usually have to be worn from one to three years. In a case of mild malocclusion, the treatment can be shorter. In order to ensure stable results, most patients are monitored by a dentist or an orthodontist for several years following the completion of the treatment. With younger patients, treatment can be delivered in two phases; the first at an early age, in order to help with the expansion of his/her dental arches, while the other is done once permanent teeth begin to erupt.

  • 07.

    How does an orthodontic appliance work?
    Answer : An orthodontic appliance works by positively affecting facial growth and by forcing teeth in certain directions so they can better position themselves. In order to free up the space needed to correct malocclusion, dental extractions may sometimes be necessary. The type of appliance used to correct malocclusion varies from one patient to another; some appliances are removable while others are fixed (glued on or cemented). The fixed orthodontic appliances used nowadays are smaller and less noticeable than those of the past, making their daily care easier. In addition to metallic brackets (braces), transparent brackets (ceramic of plastic) are now available. After the treatment, fixed or removable retainers must be worn in order to keep teeth from shifting away from their new position. This is a very important step in an orthodontic treatment.

  • 08.

    What are the leading causes of malocclusion?
    Heredity plays a role when it comes to dental and facial irregularities. The width and shape of jaws are major causative factors in the alignment of teeth.

    Certain malformations are caused by bad oral habits such as thumb or finger sucking, tongue thrusting or bruxism (grinding or clenching of the teeth). A bad deglutition (swallowing) or a chronic mouth breathing problem (caused by asthma, allergies, sinusitis, frequent colds, etc.) can also lead to the bad positioning of teeth.

    An increasing number of respiratory problems among youth affect the growth of their palate and jaws, thus leading to malocclusion problems and angled teeth. If that’s the case, do not worry, we will work with you in order to develop new breathing habits or better positioning of your tongue. If need be, we will not hesitate to refer you to specialists. The work of a speech-language pathologist or of an otolaryngologist (ear, nose and throat specialist) can help enormously.

    Lastly, the premature loss of primary teeth or the loss of permanent teeth as a result of an accident, dental caries or gum disease can also lead to shifting of other teeth and cause malocclusion.

  • 09.

    Can an adult benefit from an orthodontic treatment?
    Answer : Whatever your age is, you can benefit from an orthodontic treatment. Your face and jaws may have already fully developed, which limits orthodontic possibilities, but the tissues involved in the movement of your teeth are the same as the ones in children. The condition of your teeth and surrounding tissues will determine how much your condition can be improved. An excessive space between teeth, the protrusion of anterior teeth, the shifting of a tooth towards a empty space that was not looked after following a dental extraction or the premature loss of a tooth, a tooth that shifts towards an abnormal position for one reason or another, etc. Thanks to an orthodontic treatment, all of these conditions can be improved.

  • 10.

    Is an orthodontic treatment painful?
    Answer : Advances in orthodontics have greatly reduced treatment discomfort. Moreover, with today’s new orthodontic wires, the pressure exerted on the teeth is now less than it used to be. Most patients adapt quickly to their treatment, which involves little discomfort.

  • 11.

    What are the benefits of an early treatment?

    • Simplify or lessen the extent of the treatment of permanent dentition
    • Positively influence jaw growth
    • Improve the width of dental arches
    • Improve tooth eruption patterns
    • Mend bad oral habits
    • Improve aesthetics and self-esteem
    • Lessen speech problems
    • Preserve or regain the space needed for the eruption of permanent teeth

  • 12.

    Why is it recommended to have your teeth checked at the age of 7?
    Answer : The Canadian Association of Orthodontists (CAO) recommends that the first consultation be around the age of 7. Nevertheless, since the growth of a child can affect the choice of treatment, it is always preferable to schedule a consultation sooner than later. An early orthodontic examination can result in a simpler treatment with better results. In some cases, a periodical follow-up is advised; in order to intervene at the right moment, we offer this service free of charge, providing peace of mind for parents.

  • 13.

    Why are orthodontic treatments important?
    Answer : Most people believe that an orthodontic treatment is only necessary in order to improve their smile. In fact, an orthodontic treatment can achieve much more in improving your oral health. Overlapping teeth, misaligned teeth and improper bites may be the causes of problems such as dental caries, gum disease, jaw pains, headaches, neck pains and facial muscle pain. While healthy teeth contribute to a healthy appearance, they are also essential to your overall health.

  • 14.

    What is the difference between a dentist and an orthodontist?
    Answer : Orthodontics is a branch of dentistry that requires a 3 year academic training after completion of a doctorate of dental medicine (DMD). All orthodontists are dentists, but only 3% of dentists are orthodontists.

Coin patient

  • Il est important de ne pas manquer de rendez-vous et d'arriver à temps. Chaque rendez-vous que vous manquez peut allonger la durée de votre traitement.
  • Afin d'obtenir des résultats optimaux il est très important que vous preniez bien soins de vos dents. Suivez les conseils qui vous seront donnés à la lettre.
  • Brossez vous régulièrement les dents, n'oubliez surtout pas de bien nettoyer vos appareils et d'utiliser de la soie dentaire.
  • Lorsque l'on suit un traitement orthodontique, il faut prendre des précautions afin de ne rien manger de croustillant ou de collant. Tout au long du traitement, afin d'éviter des problèmes tels que le décollement des boîtiers, le descellement des bagues et la déformation des fils, il faudra vous abstenir de manger des aliments comme du maïs soufflé, de la gomme à mâcher, du caramel, des noix, des bonbons durs ou des glaçons (ne pas croquer).
  • Il faut aussi éviter autant que possible les aliments sucrés, car ils sont responsables de la décalcification des dents et de la formation des caries. Les légumes crus et les fruits tels que les carottes, les pommes, les poires, les céleris, les concombres, etc. requièrent aussi une attention particulière. Ils doivent être coupés en petits morceaux avant d'être mangés.



En cas d'urgence

Si une situation se présente où :

  • Un boîtier se décolle
  • Un fil sort du boîtier
  • Un fil vous pique dans la joue
  • Autres situations

Téléphonez à la clinique et expliquez votre problème à la secrétaire. Elle vous indiquera alors quoi faire et, si nécessaire, vous donnera un rendez-vous dès que possible.

Si vous téléphonez à l'extérieur des heures de bureau, laissez-nous un message nous expliquant la situation et nous vous contacterons dès que possible.

Voici quelques petits trucs pour vous aider en attendant votre rendez-vous:

Boîtiers

  • Si un ou des boîtiers se sont complètement détachées placez les dans une enveloppe et apportez les avec vous à votre prochain rendez-vous.
  • Si un boîtier se détache d'une dent et qu'il est toujours retenu par le fil, laissez le tel quel. S'il vous cause un inconfort recouvrez-le avec un peu de cire ou de la ouate.

Fils

  • Si le fil est sorti d'un boîtier et vous dérange vous pouvez placer un peu de cire pour diminuer l'inconfort.
  • Si l'extrémité du fil vous pique ou vous blesse dans la joue vous pouvez couvrir le bout avec de la cire ou de la ouate.

Autres situations

  • Si vous ressentez une douleur due au traitement ou que quelque chose vous semble anormal, vous pouvez prendre un comprimé anti-douleurs disponible en vente libre et téléphonez dès que possible pour nous expliquer la situation.

FAQ

  • 01.

    Faut-il être référé par un dentiste afin d'obtenir un rendez-vous?
    Réponse : Non, vous pouvez prendre un rendez-vous pour une consultation en appelant nos bureaux directement. Bien sûr, votre dentiste peut vous conseiller, mais si vous ressentez des inquiétudes, n'hésitez pas à lui en parler ou à nous consulter directement. Il n’est pas nécessaire d'être recommandé pour prendre rendez-vous à notre clinique. N'oubliez pas que votre orthodontiste est d'abord un dentiste qui a acquis une spécialisation.

  • 02.

    Est-ce que je dois être sous l’effet d’une anesthésie lorsque le docteur pose un appareil?
    Réponse: Non ! Tous les appareils orthodontiques utilisés à la clinique sont collés sur les dents et/ou appuyés sur les gencives. Aucune injection n'est pratiquée à la clinique.

    Si vous avez toute autre question qui ne se retrouve pas ici, n'hésitez pas à nous les poser lors de votre prochaine visite ou à les envoyer par courriel à karine@DrHuard.ca.

  • 03.

    Est-ce qu'un traitement nécessite des injections (piqures)?
    Réponse : Non, jamais ! Un traitement d'orthodontie ne nécessite pas d'injection.

  • 04.

    Quelle est la fréquence des rendez-vous?
    Réponse : La fréquence de vos visites à nos bureaux dépend en grande partie du type de traitement que vous suivez et de votre condition initiale. En moyenne, les rendez-vous d'ajustement sont placés à toutes les 6 à 8 semaines.

  • 05.

    Combien coûte un traitement?
    Réponse : Nous savons que le coût est un facteur important pour nos patients. Le coût de votre traitement peut varier énormément en fonction du type de correction, des appareils utilisés et du temps nécessaire afin d’apporter les correctifs. Par contre, à la suite de votre premier rendez-vous de consultation, Dre Huard saura vous donner une estimation de la durée et du coût du traitement. De plus, elle offre des plans de financement afin de rendre le traitement accessible. Combiné à vos remboursements d'assurance et d'impôts, le traitement coûte moins que vous ne l'imaginez !

    En corrigeant les irrégularités dentaires et faciales, les soins orthodontiques améliorent l'apparence générale de votre visage. Ceux et celles qui reçoivent ces traitements peuvent témoigner du regain de confiance et d'estime soi qu’ils engendrent. Une chose mène à l’autre; une amélioration de l'apparence qui rehausse l'estime de soi qui, à son tour, bonifie la qualité de vie. Quand vous évaluerez le coût de votre traitement, considérez les avantages d'un beau sourire en santé pour le reste de votre vie. Plusieurs anciens patients affirment avoir fait leur meilleur placement; un investissement en eux-mêmes !

  • 06.

    Quelle est la durée d’un traitement?
    Réponse : Trois facteurs peuvent influencer la durée du traitement:

    • La croissance de la bouche et du visage du patient
    • Sa collaboration au traitement
    • La gravité de son problème

    Il arrive également que certains individus réagissent mieux que d'autres à un traitement donné. Le port d'appareils correcteurs s'étend normalement sur une période de un à trois ans. Les cas peu sévères peuvent être corrigés encore plus rapidement. La plupart des patients demeurent sous la surveillance du dentiste ou de l'orthodontiste durant plusieurs années additionnelles afin d'assurer la stabilité des résultats. Chez les enfants, le traitement peut aussi se faire en deux phases, la première lorsque l'enfant est jeune pour guider son développement bucco-facial (expansion des arcades) et l'autre, au moment de l'éruption des dents permanentes.

  • 07.

    Comment fonctionnent les appareils orthodontiques?
    Réponse : Le traitement d'orthodontie s'accomplit en influençant favorablement la croissance faciale et en bougeant les dents dans leur milieu afin qu'elles prennent une position plus favorable. Certaines extractions peuvent être indiquées afin de créer l'espace nécessaire à la correction d’une malocclusion. Le type d'appareil utilisé afin de rétablir la position des dents varie d’un patient à un autre; il existe des appareils amovibles ou fixes (cimentés ou collés). Les appareils fixes orthodontiques utilisés aujourd'hui sont beaucoup plus petits et discrets que ceux du passé, facilitant leur entretien quotidien. En plus des boîtiers (broches) métalliques portés devant les dents, il existe maintenant des boîtiers transparents (en céramique ou en plastique). Après le traitement, des appareils de maintien fixes ou amovibles doivent être portés afin de stabiliser les dents dans leur nouvelle position; une étape très importante du traitement orthodontique.

  • 08.

    Quelles sont les principales causes de problèmes de malocclusion?
    Origine héréditaire
    L'hérédité joue un rôle en ce qui concerne les problèmes dentaires et faciaux. La largeur et la forme des mâchoires sont des facteurs très déterminants dans le positionnement des dents.

    Causes acquises
    Certaines malformations sont causées par de mauvaises habitudes telles que la succion du pouce ou des doigts, la poussée continue de la langue sur les dents ou la tendance au bruxisme (grincer des dents). Une mauvaise déglutition (façon d'avaler) ou un problème de respiration buccale chronique (causé par l'asthme, des allergies, des sinusites, des rhumes fréquents, etc.) peuvent aussi entraîner un mauvais positionnement des dents.

    De plus en plus de problèmes respiratoires rencontrés chez les jeunes affectent le développement du palais et des mâchoires et créent, par le fait même, des problèmes de malocclusion et de dents croches. Dans une tels cas n’ayez crainte; nous travaillerons avec vous afin de développer de nouvelles habitudes de respiration ou d'emplacement de la langue. Si le besoin se pose nous n'hésiterons pas à vous référer à des spécialistes. Le travail d'un orthophoniste ou d'un oto-rhino-laryngologiste (O.R.L) peut faire alors une énorme différence.

    Enfin, la perte prématurée des dents primaires ou permanentes à la suite d'un accident, de caries ou de maladies de gencives peuvent causer le déplacement des dents et provoquer une malocclusion.

  • 09.

    Un adulte peut-il bénéficier d'un traitement orthodontique?
    Réponse : Peu importe l’âge, vous pouvez bénéficier d'un traitement orthodontique. Même si l'arrêt de la croissance du visage et des mâchoires limite les possibilités de l'orthodontie, les tissus impliqués dans le mouvement des dents sont les mêmes chez l'adulte que chez l'enfant. La santé des dents et des structures de support déterminera les perspectives d'amélioration. L'espace entre les dents, la proéminence des dents antérieures, la bascule d'une dent dans un espace qui n'a pas été maintenu à la suite de l'extraction ou de la perte prématurée d'une dent, les dents qui pour quelque raison que ce soit se retrouvent dans une position anormale, tout cela peut être amélioré grâce à un traitement orthodontique.

  • 10.

    Un traitement orthodontique est-il douloureux?
    Réponse : Les progrès dans le domaine orthodontique ont beaucoup réduit l'inconfort des traitements. De plus, les nouveaux fils orthodontiques exercent une moins grande pression sur les dents. La plupart des patients s’adaptent rapidement et leur traitement se déroule avec un minimum d'inconfort.

  • 11.

    Quels sont les bénéfices d'un traitement précoce?

    • Simplifier ou diminuer l'ampleur d'une correction orthodontique en dentition permanente
    • Influencer la croissance des mâchoires de façon positive
    • Harmoniser la largeur des arcades dentaires
    • Améliorer le patron d'éruption
    • Corriger les mauvaises habitudes orales
    • Améliorer l'esthétique et l'estime de soi
    • Améliorer les problèmes de langage
    • Préserver ou regagner l'espace pour l'éruption des dents permanentes

  • 12.

    Pourquoi est-il conseillé d'avoir un examen de dépistage à 7 ans?
    Réponse : L'Association canadienne des orthodontistes (ACO) recommande une première visite vers l'âge de 7 ans. Néanmoins, comme le niveau de développement de l'enfant peut faire une différence dans le choix de traitement, il est toujours préférable de consulter plus tôt que trop tard. Un dépistage orthodontique précoce peut amener un traitement plus simple avec de meilleurs résultats. En certains cas, un suivi périodique est à suggérer et nous offrons sans frais ce service afin d’intervenir au moment le plus opportun et de permettre aux parents de bénéficier d'une tranquillité d'esprit.

  • 13.

    Pourquoi les traitements d'orthodontie sont-ils importants?
    Réponse : La majorité des gens croient que l'orthodontie est nécessaire seulement lorsque les dents du sourire sont en mauvaise position. Un traitement orthodontique peut faire bien plus afin d'améliorer votre santé buccale. Des dents qui se chevauchent, des dents mal alignées ou des dents qui ne s'emboîtent pas bien ensemble peuvent être source de problèmes tels que des caries dentaires, des maladies de la gencive, des douleurs à la mâchoire, à la tête, au cou et aux muscles faciaux. Avoir une dentition en santé contribue à une belle apparence mais est aussi essentiel à un bon état de santé général.

  • 14.

    Quelle est la différence entre un dentiste et un orthodontiste?
    Réponse : L'orthodontie est une spécialité de la médecine dentaire qui demande une formation universitaire de 3 ans suite au doctorat en médecine dentaire. Tous les orthodontistes sont des dentistes mais seulement 3% des dentistes sont des orthodontistes.